Mood Blanket 2014 Recap

Here we are, January 2, 2015, and my crochet mood blanket 2014 sits waiting for the last few rows to be finished. I will most definitely finish it, hopefully in the next week. For now I wanted to post what I do have.

image

Ah, so lovely. I love it. It tells the story of the whole year, the good and the bad.

I had originally decided to do one square per day, but after about a week I realized that it would turn out smaller than I wanted. I absolutely love big blankets, so why not do two squares a day, I thought. Perhaps this was a bit too ambitious, because I ended up getting behind in April, only to leave on field camp for six weeks on May and June. It took the rest of the summer before I was caught up, just before grad school started up again, and I immediately fell behind. Ha.

image

So the master plan was this. Two squares a day for 365 days plus 14 extra filler squares done in all white to make the blanket an even rectangle – a total of 744 squares. Specific colors were not designated for specific moods, but were chosen each day to best match the mood. So many of the colors represent more than one mood and one mood may not always be represented by the same color. In the end, this is what the colors generally stand for:

Dark red = love, brave, courage, empowered

bright red = anger, frustration, embarrassed

coral = stressed, nervous, busy

Light peach = hopeful, nervous, guilty

bright peach = fun, joy, hope

Bright pink = excited, fun

Dark orange = cozy, busy, unfocused

Bright yellow = very happy, fun

light yellow= happy, content, neutral

light green = relieved, relaxed, cheery, calm, adventurous

green = productive, accomplished

Turquoise = relaxed, guilty, relieved

bright blue = inspired, creative, wishful

dark blue = sad, empathy

light purple = tired

purple/magenta = happy, glad

dark purple = grumpy

light gray = bored, meh

dark gray = upset, negative

brown = adventurous, unsure

image

I had been kind of looking forward to being finished and not taking on another 365 day project. But now that it’s [almost] finished, it’s kind of sad. Many of the folks on Instagram are continuing on to a mood blanket 2015. I don’t believe I’ll do another mood blanket, but I did come across a neat idea for a crochet the sky blanket 2015 – crochet a row per day in the color of the sky.

Leave a comment